Finnish Pulla – Baking with Julia

Finnish Pulla

 

The Finnish Pulla bread was basically an easy recipe.  You just needed to have a good amount of time to make it.  That said I have made it twice in the past week and both times it turned out beautiful.  The ground cardamon adds an interesting flavor to the bread.  The pearlized sugar gave a nice crunch and slight sweetness to the top of the bread. It is a wonderful bread for breakfast or brunch.  Yum, I could eat this anytime.

The next time I make this I want to add a cardamon, sugar and ground nut filling to the braid. I am not sure if I will have time to make the Finnish Pulla for Christmas morning, but this recipe is definitely a keeper.

Be sure to check out the recipe at Erin’s blog and the other postings at TWD.

Happy Holidays and may there be more time for baking in the new year.

 

5 thoughts on “Finnish Pulla – Baking with Julia

  1. Your wreath looks great! I loved the flavour of the cardamom in it. It really is a good bread and not as hard as I thought it would be….easy in fact! I like your idea of filling the and then braiding it. It does seem like a very versatile dough.

Leave a comment