Pecan Sticky Buns – Baking with Julia

I am posting a little late as I was making birthday cakes this past weekend. This week’s recipe is Pecan Sticky Buns made from brioche dough with eggs and lots of butter. I made this recipe over two days.  I made the dough on Monday for it’s first rise.  The second rise was overnight in the refrigerator.

On Tuesday the dough was ready to be rolled out and more butter was dotted on an 11″ by 13″ rectangle.  I folded into thirds and rolled again.  Then folded it again and refrigerated the dough so it can relax.  At that point I needed to relax too.

Finally the dough was ready for filling with pecans and cinnamon sugar.  Once the dough was rolled up, it went into the freezer for an hour.  I sliced and arranged the sticky buns in a pan with softened butter and light brown sugar on the bottom.  The rise at room temperature took about 2 hours.

I baked them at 350 degrees until nicely browned.  Once out of the oven I flipped them onto a plate.  I ate one just out of the oven and they were very buttery and delicious.

I enjoyed making the dough, but the pecan sticky buns were so labor intensive and had so much butter I probably wouldn’t make them again.

My Kitchen Aid mixer was up to the task for this recipe.  The mixer did a little dance on the counter with me while I listened to Bob Marley’s,  One Love.

I have one more log in the freezer which I will bring when I go campng in June.  I can bake them in the dutch oven.  What a treat that will be!

Thank you to Lynn and Nicole for hosting this week.  Lynn of Eat Drink Man Woman Dogs Cat.  You can find the recipe at her blog as well as at the blog of our other host, Nicole of Cookies on Friday.

Leave a comment